Ad Code

Names And Biographies Of The 1st And 2nd Deputy Speakers Of The 8th Parliament Of The Fourth Republic Of Ghana

The Parliament of Ghana,on Thursday, January 7,2020, voted in Hon. Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin to replace Prof. Mike Oquaye as the Speaker of Ghana's 8th Parliament.  

The leadership of both the minority and majority side of the Parliament also proposed two other members to serve as deputy speakers of Parliament. 

The Member of Parliament for the Bekwai Constituency, Joseph Osei Owusu,popularly known as Joe-Wise of the NPP was proposed by the majority and elected to be the first Deputy Speaker Of Parliament ,while the legislator for the Fomena Constituency who contested as an independent candidate was also proposed by the NDC and elected as the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament. 

The 58-year-old and MP for the Bekwai Constituency, Joseph Osei Owusu is a Ghanaian lawyer with who has served as a lawyer for 29years in Ghana after being called to the bar I'm 1990. He is the fist deputy speaker of the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic. He was reelected as the Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament of Ghana,after being proposed by the then majority NPP. 

Andrew Asiamah Amoako is also a Ghanaian lawyer,politician and member of the 8th Parliament of the fourth Republic of Ghana, elected to office in December 2020 as an independent candidate after losing in the primaries prior to the 2020 general elections.  Amoako won the Fomena seat with 12,805 votes,defeating the main opponent from his former party,Philip Ofori-Asante,who secured 10,798 votes. He currently represents the Fomena Constituency in the Ashanti Region. His position as an independent member of Parliament became even more significant after the 2020 Parliament election, giving that neither of the two main political parties could secure an outright majority. 

On January 7,2020, Mr. Asiamah was elected as the Second Deputy Speaker of Ghana's 8th Parliament of the fourth Republic. He happens to be the first and only independent Member of Parliament to have been elected to that position in the history of the country. 

Post a Comment