Ad Code

Ghana Bans Travelers From Israel, Malta, and South Korea


The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration has issued temporary travel restrictions on persons coming from Israel, South Korea and Malta.

In separate press releases dated Friday, December 17, 2021, the Ministry indicated that the restrictions are for a 14-day period and take effect from Monday, December 20.

In the case of Israel, exceptional humanitarian cases or official duties would be granted.

“Permission would have to be obtained from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration in exceptional cases,” it said.

In the case of Malta, the Ministry indicated that “the Government of Ghana does not recognise any vaccine certificate from Malta”.

It is unclear what necessitated the temporary travel bans but it is likely to be related to the Omicron variant of Covid-19.

“To this end the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration wishes to state that the general public should take note of the above and adhere to it accordingly.”


Post a Comment